This is the "Current Selection" page of the "History Book Club" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Book Club   Tags: book.clubs, books, history, reading  

Join like minds interested in history and reading in this informative and fun partnership with Gwinnett History Museum. Find out the latest title and join the group.
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2015 URL: http://lib.gwinnettpl.org/HistoryBookClub Print Guide RSS Updates

Current Selection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

September 2015 Selection

Cover Art
The Boys in the Boat - Daniel James Brown
Call Number: 797.123 Brown
ISBN: 9780670025817
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
"Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers,the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together--a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, 'The Boys in the Boat' is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boysfrom the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showedthe world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs." --from Amazon

History & Biography Databases & Featured Titles

History Book Club When and Where

When

Monday, Septemper 21, 2015
6:00- 8:00 pm

Where

Five Forks Branch

Meeting Room
2780 Five Forks Trickum Road

Lawrenceville, GA 30044-5865

 

This is a free program and new members interested in history are always welcome.

 

 

 

  • AskGCPL
    Contact the library if you have questions or require further information.
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip